Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

History, bureaucracy, and chips – Wrap-up

Leave a comment

And, all of a sudden, we’re at the end.  I’m typing this as I wait for a load of towels to dry.  It’s my last task. Then one night full of anxiety dreams about missing my flight.  Then tomorrow, we fly home.

Roman baths, in Bath. I drank that water. Very disappointed to find I do not have super powers now.

This post is going to gloss over some stuff – like our fun trip to Bristol/Bath/Cardiff at the end of May.  Or our too-short day trip to Brighton a few weeks ago.  And basically the last two months.  Sorry…

At Cardiff Castle. I just like how it turned out.

The last couple of months have been filled with lasts:  last choir rehearsal and concert, last rent payment, last Oyster top-up, last drama/dance/piano classes, last lunch at Bone Daddies (actually, we’ve had about 3 or 4 lasts there.  We keep going back.  I’m going to miss it.  But I’m told there’s a reasonable substitute at the University Plaza now, so that’s another thing to look forward to).  Last time we went into the city.  Last day of school.  Last time I had to scrub that wretched glass shower door.

Clifton Suspension Bridge, Bristol. It’s the most picturesque bridge I’ve ever seen, if the number of pictures I took is any indication.  All of Bristol looks like this – hilly and green.

Vorlon just realised this  evening that we’d never see the kitties again and wept.  Some friends came over this afternoon to say goodbye.  It’s been a bittersweet day.

You can’t do that in Canada!!

I’m so looking forward to going home, seeing my friends and family again, and reclaiming my house.  But I will miss London, and the UK, terribly.  Big things, like being surrounded by history and iconic buildings everywhere, the amazing transit system, the greenness, and the people we met here.  And little things, like the view of the city along the Thames as the train is pulling into Charing Cross, the greengrocer down the street who would occasionally give me free samples, Tesco’s weird ungrammatical motto, the heft of a £1 coin, the awesome stove in my vast London kitchen, the chips.  And a zillion other things in between.

Millennium Square, Cardiff. Sadly, John Barrowman was nowhere to be found.

There is a lot I won’t miss.  The aforementioned shower door.  The littering.  The bureaucracy.  The fact that I couldn’t buy more than 200g of baking soda at a time (well, unless I bought 3kg from the Asian Cash and Carry).

Our feet, in Brighton

Coming here was an amazing experience.  I think we managed to find a good balance between being tourists and living here and getting involved in the types of activities we’d be doing if we were back home.  Zebula said today that she’d remember this forever.  That’s as good an outcome as I could have hoped.

See you on the other side of the pond!

(Click for all the May, June, and July pictures, if that’s your thing)

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

Leave a comment