Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

Magic

2 Comments

(Note:  I started writing this post on April 12, and then never got around to finishing  it.  So I’m going to publish it as-is today, lest you all think I fell off the end of the Earth.  I’ll update tomorrow.  No, I will!  Really!)

The following never ceases to amaze me.  How one can go from this:

Pretty colour, but lumpy and ruffled with a hard-to-see pattern.  BUT!  Give it a soak, and a stretch (and keep the cats off), and you get this:

I love it!  I don’t know if I’ll ever wear it, but it’s gorgeous!

I’m going to enter this one in the Guild adjudicated show and see how it does.  And in case you want details:  It’s the Peacock Feathers Shawl, by Fiddlesticks Knitting in their Exquisite yarn.  The yarn is lovely and the pattern is extremely well-written.

A few weeks ago, I finally got around to finishing the cursed Noro Entrelac socks:

Sure, they’re pretty.  But I haven’t even bothered to tuck the ends in.  They’ll felt to the rest of the socks soon enough, and the socks will wear out pretty quickly anyway.  Noro.  Grumble.  But they’re pretty.  Never again, I tell you!  And I mean it this time!

I also finished something for EcoMonkey, who is due to arrive this summer.  No pictures until it has been given to EcoMonkey’s parents.  But I loved, loved, loved the yarn (Tanis Fiber Arts‘ Yellow Label DK).  The colours are gorgeous and the yarn has just the right combination of loft and twist.  There’s a sweater made out of this stuff in my future.

In my ongoing quest to make all the socks in the book Sock Innovation, I’m now on pair number 6 of 15.  This time, the Kai-Mei socks.  One done, the other half done.  And I’m making them in the same colour as the published pattern (I can’t remember what the yarn is), which seems kind of lame to me, for some reason.

I started the garden!  This year, tomatoes (4 kinds), peppers (3 kinds), radishes (2 kinds), carrots, cucumbers, herbs, and beets.  I can’t even keep on top of the laundry these days, let alone take care of a vegetable garden, so I’m cautiously optimistic about this year’s yield.  The kids are excited, though.

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

2 thoughts on “Magic

  1. That shawl is unbelievably gorgeous, Nath! Is it a difficult pattern? As a fairly beginning knitter (just knitting the second sock of my first pair of socks) I am always trying to figure out how to gauge whether a project is too difficult for me to try out yet. Sure would love to create something that beautiful, though. WOW.

    • Thanks! What’s difficult about knitting lace shawls isn’t so much the actual knitting (it’s all variations on knits and purls, in the end). It’s all about following the pattern, which takes a fair amount of concentration, and having the confidence to be able to read your knitting so that you can tell if something is amiss. In the case of this particular shawl, also, the sheer size of it is also something to consider. I think a lace project would be well within your reach, just pick something a little smaller (with maybe a thicker yarn than laceweight) – maybe a hat with lace detailing? Or socks with a lace pattern. Mittens with a lace cuff? Ravelry has a zillion patterns – you’d certainly find something in there you would like to try out! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

