Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

Fruit!

Leave a comment

It’s that time of year – fruit everywhere.  In the past three weeks, I have processed (either by eating, freezing, or baking with) 24 litres of strawberries.  So delicious!  And today I picked saskatoons from the tree outside my front door, which will become jelly for my brother-in-law.  Apparently cherries are coming to the Buying Club on Friday.  I love this time of year!

Added bonus, these kept Vorlon and Zebula busy all morning:

Why people spend money on toys when a bunch of empty fruit baskets will do just fine is beyond me.

I’ve been spinning!  What with the new living room being such a nice place to hang out now, I’ve decided that my wheel is going to live there permanently.  Also, since the floor is new and I’m still all paranoid about it getting dinged, I’ve kind of neglected the drop spindle for the past couple of months.  Because I drop it a lot and hearing that crunch of wood on wood would make me cringe.  Anyway, I dug out some batts I got during the Ravelry Rubberneckers gift swap last winter, and spun this:

This was carded by the person who was my swap partner and she listed it as “wool, mystery fiber and waste silk”.  It spun up very nicely.  I tried my hand at woolen spinning, which I’d never done since I always work from sliver or roving.  It worked pretty well, I think.  It’s nice and smooshy, and those white bits of silk look pretty good.  I ended up with about 75 metres of two-ply yarn, probably a light worsted.  I don’t know what I’m going to do with it yet.  I’m itching to start working on another wool/silk blend I’ve had in the stash for three years.  I was always a little afraid to work on it (the roving is so nice!), but I’ve decided to just take the plunge, since there’s no point in the fibre just languishing in my basement.

I finished the Geometry Dress for Zebula:

I had forgotten how fast crochet works up.  I heavily modified the design, since it was intended for grown ups.  I used the smallest size, which had the right waist circumerence, and just didn’t do any bust increases.  I also made both the skirt and bodice shorter, so I just improvised the armholes and neck openings.  The yarn is some stuff I’ve had in the stash forever, which I received when I lived in Seattle from somebody whose grandma had died (“Hey, you knit.  Do you want this stuff?”)  It’s a wool/acrylic blend which Zebula has pronounced “a little itchy”, but apparently it’s fine with something underneath.

I feel some knitted lace coming on.  Maybe with beads.  I’m going to do some research.

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

Leave a Reply

