Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

Maybe trap shooting.

4 Comments

It’s been a good week-and-a-bit of visiting family, playing outside, and watching lots and lots of Olympic coverage while I could (we don’t have cable).  I love the Olympics.  I’m not sure why.  I’m not much of a sports fan, usually.  I’ve watched bits of all kinds of things, and fallen into the usual pattern of all of a sudden being able to speak knowledgeably about things I know nothing about (eg.  “Ooh, that was too far off vertical”, “Good form”, “He’s not extending his arms enough” etc.)  Still, it’s fun to watch.  And I know that all these currently household names (Michael Phelps, Carol Huynh, Usain Bolt) will be completely forgotten in a few weeks.  And I’ve come to the realization that the great majority of these performers are way younger than me.  So the odds are good that I’ll never be there myself.  I think the only things left to me are maybe Trap Shooting, and Equestrian, though Mother-Of-Thingo rained on my parade by saying that even though they’re older, they started young.  There’s still hope, I say!

And because of all this couch-potatoness while watching elite athletes amaze the world (oh, the irony), I have been incredibly productive:

In the background, the sweater for Brother-Of-Thingo, which needs to be ready in a couple weeks.  This knit up incredibly fast.  Even the endless body tube.  I steeked and cut the hood out at my Mom’s, though my brother didn’t believe it could be done.  I still have to sew down the bands for the placket and make the hems, but it’s pretty nearly done!

The green sock is Cat Bordhi’s Coriolis pattern (Ravelry link. Sorry.)  The yarn is, uh, I can’t remember now.  Huh.  Well, it was very nice.  Very fun to work up but kind of hard to pull on.  The running cable keeps it kind of tight.  And I did this fancy applied i-cord thing at the top to keep the cable going, which also makes the opening kind of tight.  The purpleish sock is my first Socks That Rock.  It’s Silky, in the Walking on the Wild Tide colourway.   I got the yarn from Saffity in exchange for a bagful of scrap sock yarn (she’s making an afghan, brave lady!).  It’s just a regular, plain jane sock, but I like it a lot.  The yarn is very silky soft.  Not sure how well they’ll wear, but they’ll be comfy!

Now I have to get ready for back-to-school.  Two weeks to go.  Crazy.

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

4 thoughts on “Maybe trap shooting.

  1. I say go for it. Trapshooting would be glad to have you. The great thing about this sport is that it’s available to all ages and genders. It doesn’t matter when you start. It only matters that you do start. Check out http://www.shootata.com for the Amateur Trapshooting Association. There’s probably a club in your area that will give you an introduction to the trap shooting, safety and provide the shotgun. I know you were probably stating all this in humor, but, perhaps you should give it a shot. It’s a lot of fun and the people you will meet are friendly.

  2. “I should give it a shot!” Good one! 🙂 Really, I was kidding about learning trapshooting, but I’m glad to know the option’s out there, if I need to start my Olympic career. Thanks for reading!

  3. I’m with you on the Olympics. Check out my blog about it. I’ve been knitting and watching every morning…My name is lisa and I am an Olympics junkie…I keep wondering what sport Vampira will do some day and whether i’ll be one of those Olympics parents that show up on tv watching their kids. Maybe swimming…

  4. The silky looks wonderful in a plain sock (I’m making mine in the sock club pattern) I’m glad you’re liking it.

    Thanks for being part of my cheering squad!

Leave a Reply

