Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing!

2 Comments

I heard my first cicada today.  To me, the sound of cicadas is the sound of heat.  That and crickets.  And there’s this bug that makes a sound on hot nights like one of those rattles that you spin.  Like these (sorry, I could only remember the French word for them.  It’s crécelle, in case you were wondering).  Anyway, I have no idea what that is.  Maybe it’s a toad and not a bug?  I get a lot of toads in my front garden.  And since you can’t search Wikipedia for sounds yet, I’ll probably never know.

Today, the kids started their day camps, so I had the morning off to do what I wanted.  It was nice!  And I get to do it again nine more times!  And it also means that the dreaded Kureyon Socks will probably get done, since that’s the portable project, and I’ll have lots of coffeeshop time to do them in.  But I don’t like working on it.  I feel like it’s a drag every time I pull them out.  But I bought this yarn in a moment of weakness at Shall We Knit after the Woolly Thoughts workshop I went to on Mothers’ Day, so I feel this is my punishment

I started a new project for Spinrite – a baby blanket and puppet/washcloth.  They’re in Bernat Cottontots, which I’ve worked with before.  It’s nice.  Fluffy (for cotton), not too splitty.  Kind of like cotton batting held together with a cotton thread spiraling around it.  And it’s crochet, so it’s just zooming along.

Back to compulsively looking at the house temperature reading.  I haven’t wished I had AC yet this summer, but tonight might push me over the edge.

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

2 thoughts on “Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing!

  1. On the left-hand margin, towards the bottom, there’s a section that is “this page in other languages”. Doesn’t always work if the entry you’re interested in doesn’t exist in that other language, but if you’re on the French wikipedia page, odds are excellent that there will be a link to the English one.

  2. Thanks! Or you could just practice your French!

Leave a Reply

