Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

April is the cruelest month

Leave a comment

And, apparently, it is the month of clichés.

I was wrong when I last posted.  I have to do six squares a day, roughly, to make this afghan finished by the deadline.  And I was wrong about how long it takes to knit five squares, because it took me three hours to knit six squares yesterday.  This is going to break my wrists.  But I like it.  It’s like art deco stained glass.  Plus garter stitch is super-fast to work up.  I just wouldn’t try to make one of these in less than a month, ever.  And the astute observer will see that there’s a bad mistake in it.  If you look at the light purple square in the upper left (it’s the first full square in the picture, in the second row of squares from the top).  Yeah, those stripes are supposed to be the light purple, not the purple in the solid part of the square.  I feel terrible.  And I’d have to undo seven squares to get back to it and fix it, and there’s no way I’m going to do that.  I’m going to try to duplicate stitch the offending square, but I’m not holding my breath (duplicate stitch almost never looks good).  If that doesn’t work,  I’ll send the designer a note and apologize a lot.  I’m sure they can disguise it in the picture.  Argh.

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

Leave a Reply

