Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

And we’re back

Leave a comment

Hello!

I know I said I wouldn’t be blogging anymore. Since I got into Ravelry, I didn’t think I really needed the blog anymore. And that was true, for the most part. But the thing with Ravelry is that while it’s fantastic for keeping track of projects, and having a record of past project, and queues for future ones, etc, there isn’t really much room for talking about the process. And I found that I missed it.

So I’m back. I decided to leave my previous server. I was using Blosxom to do my web page, and it worked fine, but needs more development skills than I have to make it pretty. Also, importing pictures to the server was an annoying process. So I went looking for blog sites and decided on this one. We recently got a shiny new iMac, and between it, my new camera, and Flickr, I’m thinking this is going to be a pretty easy process. We’ll see how it goes.

So, what’s on the needles? Surprisingly, not that much right now. I’m working on a KAL, the Spring Shawl Surprice (sic. The person whose design it is is Norwegian, and made the typo by mistake. When she tried to change it, the group members staged a (gentle) uprising, so she kept it). There are something like 550 rows, and she’s been giving us about 40 rows of the pattern at a time, every week. We don’t know what the end result is, or what the theme is. It started on January 1st, and we’re now at clue 10. I’m keeping up, for the most part, and still have no idea what the theme is. I’m enjoying the process, though this is too fiddly to watch movies I haven’t seen many times while I work on it. However, since I have discovered podcasts, I have been keeping myself entertained with those while I knit. Aside: Brenda Dayne rocks.

I’m also working on a crocheted hat, the Stone Path Hat (you’ll have to scroll down), for Zebula. It’s coming along nicely, and should be done in the next day or so. I’m running out of yarn, though, so I’m going to get creative with the brim.

The last thing is the Divine Lace Cardigan, which I’ve been working on since December of ’06. The yarn was given to me by Spinrite, a local knitting and crochet design house for whom I do sample work. They gave it to me as a thank you two Christmases ago. I don’t know why it’s languishing like that. I like it, the yarn is pleasant to work with, and I have only one sleeve left to knit up. But there it sits. I tend to work on it in jags. Hopefully I’ll have one soon so that I can wear it when (if) the weather ever improves.

Incidentally, while I’m a great fan of winter, I’ve had it up to here with the snow. No more, I say!

Finally, I wanted to mark a milestone. In my other blog, I made a pledge that I wouldn’t buy any more yarn until I could contain, with the resources currently at my disposal, the stash that I have. And I stuck to it, mostly, with a few notable exceptions. On Wednesday, I decided to air out my stash. I culled out a lot of yarn that was either in teeny little balls, or too snarled to be able to untangle without losing my mind, or just completely useless to me (my stepmom gave me about 20 balls of fine mercerized cotton out of her own stash. I’m giving that away).

Meet the stash:

Stash March 2008

Yep, there it all is, sorted by weight. I used to have it sorted by colour, as per Sally Melville’s suggestion in Styles, but that really didn’t work for me. If I wanted to combine colours, I really wanted to know what I had in the right weight, and it was awkward. I’m hoping this will help inspire me to use it up. Because it really was inspiring. And, more importantly, everything is contained in a Rubbermaid bin, or my drawer unit which holds roving, knitting tools and yarn of which I have two full balls or more. So I’m making a new pledge. If I want to buy more yarn, then it either has to be a gift for somebody, or can only be purchased if I have completed two projects out of the stash. I’m hoping to reduce the pile considerably. Really. I have enough worsted and aran weight stuff to completely fill a large plastic bin (like, 18 gallons). And they’re all single balls. Crazy.

So that’s where it stands now. Oh, and you can comment here, so if you have anything you want to say (politely!), then knock yourself out!

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

Leave a Reply

