Nath Knits

and should probably be doing something else.

Now there’s something I didn’t think I needed

Leave a comment

Guess what this is for:

It’s a mason jar cozy!

Why do my mason jars need coziness?  I make my own yogurt (because it’s cheap and delicious, that’s why!).  My method lately is to keep the jars in the oven wrapped in a scarf or shawl.  It works very well – the woolen item keeps the warm milk at the right temperature for incubation, and the oven is well-insulated, which matters more in winter when I keep my house at a temperature that some have described as child abuse.  It occurred to me that this might not be the best use of my lace shawls, so I grabbed a ball of worsted-weight wool from the stash and produced what looks like a malformed toque.  It works well!   I never thought I’d ever have to make a mason jar cozy.  But there you go.

We are having a glorious fall.

The colours are fantastic.  We drove up to Toronto for a friend’s birthday Saturday, and the usually boring drive was made less so by the beautiful trees.  I raked this morning.  This always makes me sad.  I kind of like the pretty leaves carpeting the ground.

It looks much better than bare grass.  Or in the case of my boulevard, bare yarrow and clover  – the grass got choked out years ago.  I’m pretty sure my neighbours hate me, because I encouraged it along.  However, since there’s no grass left, I only mow the boulevard twice a summer and it’s always green, no matter how dry the weather gets.  All this to say that the leaves I raked off the driveway ended up in my front garden bed, to provide a backdrop for my latest completed stuff.

That is the final version of the Baby Shane  blanket for my cousin’s baby (due any minute, I think).  Henceforth, it shall be referred to as the Baby Shane Cubed (it’s my third one, and I knit this one three times, except the border, before I was happy with it).  And, for the same baby, I finished this:

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before.  In typical Me fashion, it was basically finished about two months ago, but sat around forever while I got around to tucking in the ends and sewing on the  buttons.  It’s Willie, by Pamela Wynne.  The yarn is Patons Shetland Chunky.  It’s not the kind of thing I usually go for, but my cousin and his wife have a Dachshund named Rollo, and I thought they’d get a kick out of this sweater.  Intarsia isn’t usually my favourite, but due to the chunky yarn, it knit up really quickly.  It ended up a little bit bigger than I intended, but for babies, that’s generally fine.  You can’t tell from the picture, but the buttons are sparkly  (Zebula really, really liked them…) and the dog has a little floppy ear.  Now I just need to send them off.

I knit a baby beret and matching bootees last week for my Sue, in exchange for pickles.  This is our third trade, and I still think I totally get the better end of the deal – best dill pickles ever!  However, I didn’t have the presence of mind to take a picture before I delivered them.  Picture a wee black beret with teeny mary janes to go with them.  I made up the beret pattern, after a picture Sue sent me of what she wanted, and improvised the bootees by modifying an old Debbie Bliss pattern from New Baby Knits.

My  mom came to visit last week and requested a hat.  We browsed Ravelry together and she settled on this one:

Paddington Hat, by Tina Sanders, using Michael’s Cozy Wool.

Modeled by Zebula’s too-small head.  Hey, speaking of Zebula:

I had to give her a haircut due to a head louse epidemic at school that is reaching ridiculous levels.  It doesn’t look too bad!  I guess having a short-short haircut for most of my  life and watching hairstylists cut it finally paid off.  Short hair is easier than bobs.  Or even just cutting bangs.  The mistakes don’t show as much.

After Obscure Canlit Mama* posted about canning green tomato relish, I realized that was it – I missed the summer.  I managed to can exactly zero.   Nothing.  I froze a bunch of fruits and tomatoes, but that’s it.  I didn’t make jam.  I didn’t make pickles.  I didn’t make green tomato relish (my favourite).  Zip.  I didn’t even get much of a harvest this summer, because I basically neglected what little garden I had.  And now summer’s over, and we’ll probably be out of the country next summer.  So there you go.  No canning for me for a while.  It’s a good thing I  make my own yogurt!

Hallowe’en is fast approaching. Vorlon wants to be Legolas (he’s been watching Lord of the Rings).  Zebula wants to go as Artemis (she’s been reading The Lightning Thief).  Neither of those sounds too hard (though every time I have googled ‘Artemis’ for ideas, she’s topless, which I guess helps with handling the bow and arrow, but  which is probably against the school dress code.  I figure a toga will be close enough.)  And Christmas is coming.  And I promised Mom of Dr. Thingo some socks (her birthday is at the end of the month.  I started them already).  And I have a choir concert schedule that is quite full until mid-December.

I hope your fall is lovely and that you had a good Thanksgiving!

* Obscure Canlit Mama’s alter ego Carrie Snyder’s book, The Juliet Stories made the short list for the Governor General Literary Award!  I’m so happy for her!  It is well-deserved.  Now, go get her book and read it!

Author: nathknits

Mom, knitter, IT nerd, trying to make it all run smoothly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers